Summer is for Sewing

And that’s good enough for me!
I already posted this but WordPress decided it wasn’t good enough and mysteriously deleted it.
So lets try it again!

I don’t know what it is about the summer but I always seem to get lots of sewing done when my sewing closet is a balmy 70-80*. I’m normally sewing in my sleep dress (my latest obsession from Target, seriously best thing to sleep in since boy shorts) then as try on/fitting sessions begin, I’m down to my unders, it’s a good thing there are no windows in there.
I started this dress Monday night instead of studying, it’s amazing what you can get accomplished when you are supposed to be studying for History 101. Did I mention I am officially back in school? Another reason why there has been a little bit of a lull on here, work full time, going to school at night and fully booked weekends have me quite busy these days. But! This dress came together Friday night without much fuss and with lovely results!

20130612-093533.jpg
A few iPhone shots after it was completed. If I had any time I would have a proper shoot with the fancy cam but its a challenge to get dinner made so we’ll put that on the back burner. I wore it basically all weekend and didn’t want to take it off Sunday night.

20130612-093928.jpg

I will definitely be making this again it’s Butterick pattern 5781 in a size 6 with 3/4 seam allowance and petite sizing in the bodice. Next time I won’t shorten the bodice because the waist hits about an inch too high on this dress but still wearable! I also gathered the skirt instead of the pleats called for in the original pattern, I have a strange idea that a pleated skirt looks like cheerleading skirt and can’t get into it.

20130612-094905.jpg
The fabric is from the Fabric place basement in Natick. If you are in the area and can get there, go! It’s amazing. They have fabric sorted by print and this one was in the polka dot section. I could’ve bought all of them but this one was the most unique. It’s a little heavier than a regular cotton and has a nice drape to it. I didn’t have enough to cut the pockets of out the same fabric so I made them hot pink and matched the zipper to them.
There you have it, another completed dress that will go into heavy wardrobe rotation, I love when that happens.

Leave a Reply

